Glossary Martial Arts / Term


Category of rank in the Japanese, Okinawan, and Korean martial arts that classifies students, instructors, and masters who wear the black belt. It usually takes three to four years of ascent through the kyu or gup grades to reach 1st-degree black belt, at which the dan ranks commence in systems, 6th degree and upward are awarded for merit or accomplishment, instead of physical proficiency. The dan ranks for Japanese and Okinawan martial arts are
shodan-1 st degree
nidan-2nd degree
sandan-3rd degree
yodan-4th degree
godan-5th degree
rokudan-6th degree
shichidan-7th degree
hachidan-8th degree
kudan-9th degree
judan-10th degree
juichidan-11th degree (judo only)
junidan-12th degree (judo only)

The dan ranks for tae kwon do (Korean) are:
ilidan-1 st degree
yeedan-2nd degree
samdan-3rd degree
sahdan-4th degree
ohdan-5th degree
yookdan-6th degree
childan-7th degree
paldan-8th degree koodan
9th degree shibdan
10th degree


chodan-1st degree
ea dan-2nd degree
samdan-3rd degree
sadan-4th degree
ohdan-5th degree
yukdan-6th degree
childan-7th degree
paldan-8th degree
kudan-9th degree
shipdan-10th degree.

Permanent link Dan - Modification date 2020-01-05 - Creation date 2020-01-05

< Ching Glossary / Martial Arts Degree >